The 200K Yakezie Roundup (and some personal note)

It’s Saturday here, and there’s nothing more relaxing than reading what my fellow Yakezie members wrote. Being in the group has been an interesting and, at the same time, confusing experience to me. Even more baffling than the hail we just had. It’s just the beginning of autumn here, but we still have 30+ degrees Celsius days.

When you mix a group of skilled and experienced bloggers with the rest (I belong in the latter group), the result would be “colourful”. The disparity in experience, time and skills could create misunderstanding and confusion for the newbies; while for the experienced fellows, having to slow down could become a frustrating experience.

In a way, I may have gotten lost in the sea of ideas, tools and competition. For someone who still has little idea of what she actually wants, this can be off-putting. But then I just have keep reminding myself why I do this; to write, get my ideas out and to connect with other people. The rest is optional.

Is it just me or is there anyone out there feeling the same way? Please do chime in.

The most important thing is all of us have learned a lot from each other (heck, I just opened my first twitter account two days ago, let alone using other tools).Β  Let’s just hope that this project will bring positive experience for everyone in it.

Thriftygal at Chasing Prosperity wrote that the best way to ruin your child is to encourage them run a children lingerie businessΒ  at 9. Enough said! Even if it’s not true,Β  her fashion sense really creeps me out.

Rainy-Day Saver has a new clean and crisp layout that I really like. One post that caught me sums up my situation current situation as well. I’m happy that she’s getting ahead with a whole new look.

Jason’s (MyMoneyMinute) paradigm shift in materialism gets him all pumped up when he entered the 200k mile club recently. I suppose congratulation is in order? πŸ™‚

Young and Thrifty invites us to dream about what to do with a million bucks. I never get tired of it.

Austin from Foreigner’s Finances shares the five books that change his financial life. I share the first one. But is there really a lack of libraries in Japan? Or is it just the English library?

Stay at Home Mom CFO discusses about maternity coverage and health insurance choices. It seems pretty hectic from the get-go (having a child, that is). Hence, four thumbs up for SAHMCFO who juggles between taking care of three kids, being the family CFO and writing a blog. I’m already tired just by thinking about it :).

Good luck for Elle from Couple Money who’s organising timeshare for a car this week. I’m going to sell mine so we’re going down that road too.

The Amateur Financier presents a case study of unemployment benefit.

Little House in the Valley concerns about homelessness amongst young people. This issue is widening in this part of the world too.

What does engineering teach about finance? Find out here at Engineer Your Finance.

Tracy at Downturn Living talks about how to make one of my favourite activities … green.

CJ Bowker ponders the second most asked questions when meeting new people. I can’t wait for the day when my answer will beΒ  “vagabonding”.

Aaron from Clarifinancial helps with getting the best life insurance.

Don from Money Reasons discusses the best time to have children. My take right now isΒ  “delay as long as you can”.

Well-Heeled Blog review Elizabeth Gilbert’s take on couple money. I like the way Ms. Gilbert uses a pseudonym for her husband “Felipe”, a mysterious Brazilian gem-dealer… gets my imagination going wild.

Neal from Wealth Pilgrim, in a true sense of Yoda-ism, explains the virtue of what most PF bloggers go against: not making extra money.

Evolution of Wealth defines financial planning. It’s more than just spending less than you earn.

Punch Debt In The Face is on scheduled maintenance when I check in πŸ™‚

Money Funk has started a 21-Day Vegan Kickstart. All of them sound delicious… only, why vegan? πŸ™‚

Deliver Away Debt has made serious dent on his debt in February. Congratulations! I admire your discipline and commitment. Plus, I can’t believe you can make so much money doing pizza delivery (folks here don’t tip).

The Ultimate Money Blog’s writer Mrs. Money ditched the credit card debt. Congratulations!

Wow! Quite a list there. I have even more appreciation for anyone doing the link roundup now πŸ™‚

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Comments
16 Responses to “The 200K Yakezie Roundup (and some personal note)”
  1. Cool, I’m the first one to comment! Thanks for the link Bytta!

    Wow I wish I was in 30+ weather! Today it was 12C here and it felt really warm already- spring is here!

  2. Talk about confusing… Isn’t 30 degrees below freezing:-) That explains the hail. Oh yeah, unlike the rest of the world we use a different gauge.

    Doesn’t look to me like you are confused at all. You rock! Thanks for sharing our friends with your readers.

    • Bytta says:

      We had hailstorm and severe flooding yesterday. Yeah, the temperature is just the beginning πŸ™‚ The rest, I just google it.

      Thanks for the kind words.

  3. Nice first wrap up Byta! You’ll have to tell me more about your Gravatar when you get a chance! I like how you and Thrifty Gal are becoming buddeees πŸ™‚

  4. Monevator says:

    I agree blogging gets confusing, once you’re trying to do anything other than write and post articles for yourself. Promotion, linking, community and all that stuff — there are so many different theories as to what works best, you’d never sleep if you tried to pursue them all! πŸ™‚

    • Bytta says:

      Thanks mate. So effing true πŸ™‚ I guess the good ol’ day when you only write and be worshipped is over.
      As if organic human interaction is not complex enough.

  5. Nice job on commenting on all of the post you have listed. It’s nice to hear a bit more of a personal take on a group of links like these!

    You aren’t alone on the confusion from the flood of ideas that are flowing from the Yakezie group! While all are decent ideas, the groups shouldn’t burn each other out! Let’s take our time to think these things through, focus on the core purpose of the group (not doing so kind of make the group invalid)… Not doing so is kinds of like having a debt free club where all the members are going deeper into debt (vs out of debt…).

    I’m glad the Financial Samurai has posted a response that tries to reign in the group, back to the core focus.

    Kudos to you!

    • Bytta says:

      Thanks Don. Glad I’m not alone here.
      Good analogy with the debt free club. It’s easy to get burnt out when we lose sight from the core purpose.
      I’m glad we’re all pitching in, though.

  6. Thanks for including my post, and good looking Round-Up overall. I think most of us new bloggers (and I still consider myself new, even after more than a year of blogging regularly) find it overwhelming to try to do everything that we read about in order to boost our Alexa ranking/get more readers/optimize our blog in any number of ways. You just have to do what you can, continue to try your best, and eventually it should all come together; at least, that’s what I keep hearing. Keep up the good work, and I’m sure you’ll do fine.

    • Bytta says:

      Thanks for dropping by, Roger.
      I see you have done well yourself. You’re right, it takes time to get it all together πŸ™‚
      Nice to know that I’m not alone in the struggle.
      Cheers.

  7. Money Funk says:

    Thanks, Bytta. Great roundup!

    Vegan? Because I love doing things off the beaten path. I love the challenge. Plus, I have an issue with mass agriculture. The crazy things they do with our food. It’s a great way to detox the body of all that junk we eat. I want to learn alternative cooking methods. So many great reasons! :D’

    Now off to read…

    • Bytta says:

      Hi Money Funk,
      I see where you’re coming from.
      I agree to the extent that eating too much meat makes me feel sluggish because my body spends the energy just to process it. Vegetarian (won’t go as far as vegan :)) food is easy to digest and lighter.
      Good luck with the challenge! Will see how you go with that.

  8. Bytta – Thank you for including me and the kind words. You can also add me to the “a little overwhelmed” group. I’m so, so excited to be part a something (the Yakezie) that I find myself in a frenzied state. “Am I reading enough?, Am I commenting enough? What the heck is SEO, google docs, carnivals..?” So please don’t feel alone. I’m trying to slow down too:)

    • Bytta says:

      Haha, so true. I thought blogging is only about writing and commenting; who knows there are 1001 attachments to it πŸ˜€
      Being in the group is great because your learning process improves exponentially. The only downside is we all feel a little overwhelmed because we don’t want to be left behind.
      Good luck, SAHMCFO!

Leave a Reply

