Day 16: Off to Middle Earth We Go

After four months of careful planning, my beloved and I went on our New Zealand holiday last Saturday. Atypically I didn’t feel much excitement for the trip. Maybe it’s partly due to my excessive reading on travel books about this beautiful country prior to the trip. It felt like I already accomplished it in my mind.

Auckland is famously known as City of Sail. Although for me, the most distinctive feature of this city is not its marinas, but rather its hilly terrain. We spent the first day walking uphill for a couple of kilometers and not finding a decent restaurant. Forget about bootcamp trip, try staying in Auckland CBD for a week and run errands all over the city, you’ll end up losing 20 kg with particularly firm gluteus maximus.

Suffice to say, the first day was rather underwhelming. It made me think about the purpose of this trip and the one year long round the world trip we’re going to have in a few months. Why do we want spend so much money for holiday if the result is below expectation? What’s the point of travelling? And more importantly, how do we set a realistic expectation from travelling without downgrading the element of excitement?

I’m going to address these questions in the next few days. In the meantime, I need to unwind. The trip didn’t turn out so bad after all.

Comments
2 Responses to “Day 16: Off to Middle Earth We Go”
  1. I think the best part of traveling is going back home. Every time I go on a trip it makes me appreciate home even more.

    I’m glad you had a good trip. My brother-in-law and his family sold everything they had and relocated to New Zealand a few years ago and from what I hear they love it there.

    • Bytta says:

      Really? I tend to be sad when the holiday is over. I don’t think it’s because I don’t like being at home, I think work is responsible for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

