Day 14: The February Purge Challenge

After a month of philosophising, I decided to get off the chair and do the hard stuff, the real work, the hard yakka! Now, I’m not going to give up the luxury of being an armchair life commentator completely, I just need to do something outside my comfort zone and see some real results.

Thinking is the seed of progress; but without action, it is like a revving machine that stays stationary because the driver refuses to let the brakes go. The brakes can be your mental block; fear, niggling doubt, laziness, you name it.

Therefore, without further adieu, I introduce you to The February Purge Challenge. The idea is to get rid of 100 items in the house that have resale value and are still useful (at least for other people).  They can be sold, donated, given away or trashed. In most households, 100 items are insignificant; heck, I think I have half of that in my handbags already. The point of this exercise is get the ball rolling and make some money along the way.

You are more than welcome to join the challenge. If you are unsure, here’s a few guidelines:

Which items are eligible?

If someone would pay a dime for it, then yes. But then again, most people would think your second-hand pyjamas are worth nothing. Worry not, if they are in good condition and will be useful for someone else, it counts. In a nutshell, clothes? Yes. Books? Yep. Used toothbrush? No, no.

Why February, the shortest month of the year, and we already missed out by six days?

Why not? My new mantra these days is “tomorrow is not a good day”. Do it now, do it today, no matter how small.

What if I don’t reach the target of 100 items?

Then you’ll be punished in an eternal damnation of watching Neighbours and other mind-numbing soap operas over and over again. Nah, kidding… you’ll live to fight another day. Finish it next month, or make a bold move by selling big ticket items (car, house, spouse?:)) to make up the shortfall.

To keep myself accountable, I will put a tally count on the side bar to track the number of items gone and the amount of money made out of it. Ideally, you shouldn’t spend a dime on stuff while the cleansing is in progress.

What are the benefits of this purge challenge?

It will save time, save money, make money, create a zen-like environment, keep you calm, open up the next level of consciousness, make you realise how much you have, etc etc. Sell it to yourself any way you like. Just make it happen.

Finally, that’s it. I gotta go and pack up the unworn dresses I bought two years ago. Good luck and wish me luck!

Comments
4 Responses to “Day 14: The February Purge Challenge”
  1. Throughout the year we routinely identify stuff we no longer need and typically pile it up in a spare room for donation. With the U.S. tax system we often get more value out of donation as compared to a yard sale. But with options like eBay you’ve got me thinking that we may be missing some opportunity. We recently began listing a few things on eBay but I think I am going to try and use your challenge on my wife to see if I can convince her to find 100 things this month to sell! Thanks for the motivation!

    • Bytta says:

      Hey Coach,
      I think it’s great to have tax rebate on donated goods. We don’t do it here, only monetary donation is eligible for tax rebate. One thing with eBay that irritates me is the fee and commission we need to pay them if it’s sold. They could really add up. But then again if your motivation is to get rid of things rather than making money, then it won’t hurt as much.
      Ps. The anal-retentiveness in me rejoices when I plan and list the things I have to get rid of 🙂

  2. This is a good idea Bytta. I’m like Coach and usually donate bags of stuff to Goodwill Industries but I think I’ll take your suggestion and get a jump start on spring cleaning and sell a few things while I’m at it.

    BTW – Ohio missed the big snowstorm but Snowmageddon dumped on my family on friends back east. You two should be glad you live somewhere warm (I assume it’s warm where you are Bytta).

    • Bytta says:

      Good on ya, David! Too bad on snowmageddon… had to look up its meaning. I can’t imagine having to deal with harsh weather like that. You guys must be very resourceful.
      We’ve been having 35 degrees Celsius (or 95 degrees Fahrenheit) days lately. Since we have a rather mild climate in Melbourne, we don’t have snowfall in winter. But yes, it can be quite crazy in summer.

Leave a Reply

