Day 7: Eight Random Things About Me (And Some Homework)

Recently I’ve been tagged by The LeanLife Coach to list eight random things about me. I don’t remember the last time I participated in this ritual, maybe three or four years ago when it was popular on Friendster (does anyone remember Friendster?). For the uninitiated, Friendster is an early social networking website that was (and still is) generally popular in Asia and part of US before the rise of Facebook and MySpace.

So, without further adieu, here we go:

This is my number 5 look. What an eye candy!

1. My own mother called me a “robot” once for I hardly showed my feelings and expressions, but…

2. I cried all night after watching AI (Artificial Intelligence) and could not get over it for three nights (okay, maybe more).

3. I am a member of Mensa and sometimes people believe that means I have magical power. Relax folks, I just passed a couple of tests, doesn’t mean I can part the Red Sea.

4. I know pi to its 50th decimal point and recite it in my mind from time to time to harness my memory skill.

5. I used to sit in the car and divide the number plates (three and four digits) by 3 or 9 or 11 or if I was lucky, 7. No wonder my mother called me a “robot”.

6. By now you should realise that I am a big nerd. Well… I am.

7. I used to have an imaginary friend until… last year. I’m putting this one randomly hereΒ  in the hope that nobody would notice.

8. One time I was almost denied an entry to my home country because I raised my voice to the immigration officer. Lesson learnt.

If you read this, consider yourself tagged.

Tomorrow I will write about investment on relationships in terms of time, money, emotion and the kind of result we expect. To be honest, I planned to do that today but I spent the whole day researching the topic; namely having an argument with my husband, made up, got upset by a friend, kind of made up, spent the whole afternoon with my girlfriends talking about relationship, business and life plan. Those are legitimate methodologies of research, right? πŸ™‚ Oh well, have a great weekend, everyone! Drive safely.

Comments
4 Responses to “Day 7: Eight Random Things About Me (And Some Homework)”
  1. theruffstuff says:

    Was your imaginary friend at your wedding? And did your husband know?
    Now, my eight random things.
    1. I would prefer people have a quiet giggle at the fact I have three or four haircuts a year than sit still while a stranger brandishes scissors close to my head more often for the sake of appearances.
    2. I was jealous of my brother’s imaginary friend so created my own for a while. But the friendship only lasted a week.
    3. I cried at the end of Terminator II: Judgment Day when I was 17 even though I had seen it several times by then. I was just going through some emotional times, okay?
    4. I have a strange thumbprint on my right thumb because I threw a pinecone over the fence but part of my skin remained attached.
    5. I have a friendly, non-violent pinecone that I picked up in primary school and have kept ever since.
    6. The pinecone’s name is Tossy because I used to toss it in the air, spin it around and catch it for what could have been hours on end. It never hurt me, unlike a certain other pinecone that shall remain nameless (in the sense that I never named it.)
    7. All snails are called Sam, after Samantha the first snail I had as a kid, and Sam, who replaced Samantha after she got lost.
    8. All flies are called Fred. It’s just easier that way.

    • Bytta says:

      Thanks for the insight, Ruffy. Very confronting indeed πŸ˜€
      Yes, he/she was at my wedding and no, he didn’t know it until… tonight… from my blog, like everybody else.
      Another relationship lesson!

  2. I think your imaginary friend is upset that you didn’t name him/her!

    Mensa is impressive. I was took some “Mensa” prep tests in a book that suggested I had a chance. One look at the real ones and I knew the truth… Not a chance!

    Knowing Pi to the 50th digit is even cooler. I competed with my son but never got past 12. Last I checked he was at 21 (his mother’s genes!)

    Thanks for playing!

    • Bytta says:

      Hi LeanLife Coach,
      My imaginary friend did have a name, I just don’t want to expose it πŸ™‚
      Some people have the brain that could store and recite Shakespeare’s sonnets effortlessly, I think my brain respond similarly to numbers. I don’t know any song whose entire lyrics I remember. You should give that test a go, though.
      I’m happy to play πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

